Elder Purdy’s first day

Ia ora na! So this is Elder Purdy.. and I guess this is a blog that I’m not really running.. But my dear sister is for me, so I can let you all know what’s going on in my life here! πŸ™‚ okay.. Where to begin?
Well for those of you who don’t know, I’m serving a mission in Tahiti! I’m on the main Island of Tahiti, in a city called Faaa, my zone covers two wards, the Tipaerui ward, and the Pamatai ward. πŸ™‚ I love it so much. I got here about a week ago, I left the MTC about 6 in the morning of the 28th of Jan. and arrived at Tahiti about 11 at night that night! So it was quite an experience for me. I won’t share everything that’s happened, because Internet here is kinda expensive to use, and time is of the essence! But! It was freezing in Utah.. and then I got off the plane in Tahiti, and I was already drenched in a mixed combanation of sweat and humidity.. We got off the plane, and none of my district spoke French too well, so we were a little lost on what we were supposed to do, we finally got our stuff put together, and met the Mission President outside of the airport with his wife! Presidnt Sinjoux and his wife gave us some sweet necklaces and what not when they saw us, gave us the kisses on the cheeks, and we packed our stuff, and headed to the mission home!
We got there around 1:30 or so, and we were super tired, but we got ready for bed, and dodging the cockaroaches, geckos, and other creepy crawlies, we got into bed, tried to ignore the heat, the humidity, and little critters, and went to bed, woke up at about 6 the next day, and the sun was already up! So we got ready for the day, and went to President Sinjoux’s house and had some breakfast! Pretty normal stuff really, some pancakes, some weird eggs, some other things that I’m not really sure what it was, and Poisson cru, it’s like raw fish mixed with.. stuff. It’s like raw fish salad.. I have a picture.. I’ll see if I can get that up here. πŸ™‚ We ate our breakfast, and went to an orentation, and that took until about 5, and then we were assigned our Comps! My New companion is Elder Ollerton, and he’s a really swell guy. πŸ™‚ he’s been out about 3 months, and he’s already a trainer! He speaks really good French and really good Tahitian as well as English, seeing as he comes from California… Yeah, okay.
So we packed my stuff in a little car, and drove off to my new house! Didn’t have my bike quite yet, something had happend at the airport, so we dropped my stuff off at the house, didn’t have time to unpack, cause we were headed out the door to my first lesson!! Rianna was her name, and she’s been interested in the church, and she’s been taking lessons for a while, so we talked with her, and her daughter, or little sister, I’m not really sure, she loved to correct my French. πŸ™‚ so I became humble, and took all the corrections of this little 8 year old girl. Whatever. No biggie.
Then after that lesson we headed out to this other house about half way up the mountain for the Faatamaaraa (the members of the church sign up for a day of the month to feed the missionaries, and it’s called a faatamaaraa! they love to feed you as I soon came to find out) so we went up to Tariu’s house, and had Marlin steaks, some amazing fruit, BBQ’d chicken, and some weird drink stuff! After that we went back to the house, planned, and went to bed! So that was my real first day! Whew! Okay..
So the next day, I got my bike in the morning, and we had a lesson in about 15 minutes, and my bike wasn’t put together yet, so I had to hurry and throw it together and I didn’t have time to inspect it, so I was kinda worried about that, but I left anyway (I’ve learned to ALWAYS listen to the Spirit) so we were headed up a road, and it was super steep, so we got off and started to walk our bikes up. I noticed on the front axel there was a piece that was loose, so as I was walking with the bike, and the wheel was turning, I went to fix said piece, well, I stumbled a bit, and my finger got caught in the break disk of the wheel, and kinda ripped my finger up. πŸ™‚ oops. so yeah, blood, stains, bike broken a bit, yadda yadda, we went to a member’s house (I don’t know her name. And even if I did know it, I probably wouldn’t know how to pronounce it) anway, so we went to her house, and she fixed me up, and we were on our way again and started preaching the gospel! πŸ™‚
Tahiti is off the hook though. It is so amazing here. One thing I have noticed is that you’re never really dry.. You’re out in the weather all day, so you’re wet from the sweat and the humidity, and then you take a shower in the morning and at night, and you’re wet in there obviously, then you “dry” off, and then you’re wet again, and so on and so forth! Also.. There is almost no difference in how wet you are from when you’re just walking on a sunday, and when it rains.. It’s really that humid and hot here. πŸ™‚ So it’s really pretty cool.
The people are soooo friendly here it’s a joke. Everyone says hi ( Ia ora na, or Bonjour) and everyone waves to everyone, and the signature wave here is that classic “hang loose” sign with the thumb and the pinky, and.. you just shake your hand! And man, it’s awesome. πŸ™‚
Food is called maa here, and so that’s where FaataMAAraa comes from, and at those. The members prepare this HUGE dinner for you.. Seriously enormous, and we bless the food (sometimes takes a few prayers because it’s so big) and we dig in.. And it’s a lot of fish. πŸ™‚ I don’t like fish πŸ™‚ but that’s okay, I eat it anyway. What’s the weirdest thing I’ve eaten? Um.. Shrimp.. but that’s only becasue it still had it’s head and tail on it. Yeah. But you eat, and eat, and eat (You’re talking with them too during all of this, in French, and Tahitian) and then you set your fork down, or the bone you’re eating off of.. and the people will say “Elder ma (ma: word that goes after pronouns and such, it means “and company” essentialy) “Elder ma! Manger!!” so you just keep eating! And then right as you’re about to pop, they bring out the dessert. πŸ™‚ I plan on gaining weight on my mission….\
I don’t have a ton of time left, but I will have you know that there are so many chickens here.. everywhere you go, more chickens, and they just sit there and eat stuff all day, and the roosters crow at all hours of the night and day, and there are dogs, oh heavens are there dogs. And many of them are really really mean, I don’t think they like Mormon boys too much..
Oh! Also, I bore my testimony in French in both my wards, and said the closing prayers in both too. πŸ™‚ They like to pick on me. As friendly as they are, the Tahitians like the panicked look on an American’s face. πŸ™‚ Okay, I’ll write more next time!
Na na! A faaitoito!
Your Favorite Tahitan,
Elder Purdy

3 thoughts on “Elder Purdy’s first day

  1. Elder Puray served in my ward, the Tipaerui ward… he was indeed awesome… so devoted to help in everyday possible. You can be proud of him that is for sure!!!

Leave a Reply

