2.11.13

So the dates here are backwards a bit so todays date here isย 11.02.13
So it’s P-day again, and I do believe that I have found a way to put up pictures! So yeah, those should be up soon. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love Tahiti, I really do, the people, the food, the sights, the way things work, except addresses.. they don’t have addresses here, so when We get a reference, they say, “oh they live up the big street with the yellow house on the corner, then ย you turn right at the little shack up there, then you go down the street on the right, then it’s the second house past the house with the green gate.” and that’s in French.. ย So it’s a little difficult at times. ๐Ÿ™‚
Here I speak more French than Tahitian, but the French has a lot of Tahitian words in the sentences. Um.. And right now… I am having a super rough time with the languages! They speak super fast, and trying to use different tenses, and vocab, and phrases, it’s hard.. Especially teaching lessons. That’s a killer sometimes. We teach about 5-7 lessons a day, and about three lessons a week are in Tahitan.
We have… 7 fixed baptisms, ๐Ÿ™‚ and about 10 more that are being worked out. It’s a very cool place here. We give a lot of blessings to sick people, haven’t had to cast any demons out yet, but I’ve heard that’s a common thing here… Freaky..
There are so many animals here. Dogs, Chickens, Cats… just running around everywhere, I’ve been chased by dogs a lot.. You’ve gotta run/peddle fast, or they’ll get you. ๐Ÿ™‚ haven’t been bitten yet! Yet.. Oh! And the mosquitos.. Horrendous. I average about 20 new mosquito bites a day, and they itch like no other. My finger is doing better, still no nail on it, but hopefully it will grow back soon. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s blazing hot all day, and biking up the hills here in the hot humid weather is murder. I’ve never drank so much water in my life as I have here, and I still have… “signs” of dehydration.
The people here are so incredibly nice. You can ask for anything, and they are more than willing to give it to you. Before you even sit down for a lesson, just a lesson, they give you a “snack” it’s really a meal and a half. But they have the best intentions. ๐Ÿ™‚ the wards here love the missionaries, the little kids will come sit by me during Sacrament, and just talk to me, and I feel really really dumb because the 3 year old child speaks better than I do. ๐Ÿ™‚ But it’s fine, it’ll come. Well, that’s all for now. ๐Ÿ™‚
E mea ti’a ia tatou ia haere na roto i te faaroo eiaha ra i te haere’a i te mata.
“we must walk by faith, and not by sight”
Love, your favorite Tahitian, Elder Purdy

Leave a Reply

