2.26.13

Another great week in Tahiti my friends! Here’s a bit of my week:
We had 22 lessons canceled.. so that’s really a big ol’ bummer. Usually we don’t have more than 3-4. So that really was a rough patch. But it’s all good! Just keep on Faaitotio. The language is super super hard still. πŸ™‚ But I really like it, It’s not too bad really, just kinda rough. but that’s all the not happy stuff that happened. πŸ™‚ Here’s the goods…
The people here are super super laid back. We can be like a half hour late to a lesson, and we’ll call them, and they’ll be like “Oh, it’s totally fine, no worries, I’m not doing anything else today” just things like that, so that’s a really nice perk, because we’re late a lot. The people LOOOOVE to talk, they could talk all day, so that’s why we’re late to other lessons, because the lesson before them kept us there for an extra 30 minutes. πŸ™‚ it’s great.
EVERYONE shakes hands, or something like it. Whenever it’s “formal” (I put it in quotation marks because it’s almost never ever formal here) they shake hands, if it’s just whatever, they do a high five, but they always hit twice. πŸ™‚ That’s one thing that will be hard to change when I get back, because when we go to church, we shake EVERYONE’S hands, πŸ™‚

So the Faatamaaraa, (the missionary diners) they feed you a TON!! And keep feeding you, and then just when you think it’s over, they bring out the DESSERT! So, you’ve gotta save some room in your tummy for the dessert, or you’ll die. That’s something you learn fast here.
So if you know me, you know that I’m a fan of the James Bond fella, and Sky Fall was the last movie I watched before I left, and so I will admit that when I’m riding my bike along the road, I hum the James Bond theme song… But anyway, we went and visited a lady, and she was telling us about a girl in our ward who didn’t know my name, but was talking about me, and she said something like “the Elder that looks like Daniel Craig!”… Life=made. That was one of the happiest moments on my mission. πŸ™‚ not really, but that made me pretty happy, and boy oh boy did I sing the James Bond Theme song that day!!

There are Tons of geckos here.. And they Poop.. and make this strange barking sound. But I really like them. πŸ™‚ they’re hard to catch, and if you let go of them, they will literally jump right out of your hand, and fall like four feet to the ground, and then run off. They’re kinda cute though. πŸ™‚
Now, The Fafaru.. The most disgusting food ever. What they do, they take the guts of fish and such, put it in sea water, let it sit for who knows how long, let it “marinate” and get all gross, take out the guts so it’s just the nasty green water, put RAW FISH into the water stuff, and let that sit for like an hour or so, then dip the raw fish into fermented coconut milk, and eat it. Tell me that there is something wrong with this picture. But, I ate it, and it tastes just as bad as it sounds. πŸ™‚ it’s like a delicacy here or something. There are other super gross foods here, I’ll try and get a picture of them up. πŸ™‚ But! I did drink straight out of a coconut, and that made me feel all happy and warm inside.
Now!!! The crowning moment of my week.. The people here make a HUGE deal out of ward conference.. Yes, ward conference, so they had all these things to celebrate it or something.. They first had this reactivation thing where groups of us went to inactive member’s houses, and give them cakes and tell them to come to church this week, so that was cool. I went and visited a lady who had just had her baby that day, then we gave her the cake, and a sister that I was with insisted that she come to church in two days, and so that was kinda awkward. But that’s just how they do things here.:)

And then the next day, they had this random four hour activity that they wanted us Elders to go to, so we went, and it was really really fun, they had games and drawings, and things like that.. They also had Kareoke.. Now, if you know me, I’m not a great singer, and I’m an Elder, and things like that, so I had no intentions of doing anything. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So they called some random people up to sing, and they had a great time, then a song by Adele came on, you might know it, it’s called Someone Like You… So a sister was singing it, and she got embarrassed, and passed the mic to ME!!!! So I was like, Pft, whatever, I’m doing this bad boy!! So I stood up and I belted “SOMEONE LIKE YOOOUUUU! DON’T FORGET ME…” And man, Everyone in the cultural hall was cheering and laughing, and clapping. πŸ™‚ LIke a BOSS!!! So fun. πŸ™‚ don’t tell my mission president though. πŸ™‚ Well that’s all for this week, Join me next time. πŸ™‚
I’d also like to congratulate anyone and everyone who has their missionary calls. πŸ™‚ A mission is seriously the best thing ever to happen. πŸ™‚ Love you all!
Love, Elder Purdy

Leave a Reply

