5.3.13

Okay, so this week, kind of a weird one. It got SUPER SUPER hot, like 36-38 degrees C. Which is like 96-100 F. And when the humidity is about 200%. (not really) it’s super crazy hot. But, the reason for the heat, was because now we have a HUGE Storm passing, It’s been raining a TON these last few days, and that’s a pain in the butt when you’re trying to ride a bike in it, holding all your books and stuff trying to preach the Lord’s Gospel and such. πŸ™‚ Nah, it’s awesome. I bought a Pareu last weekend!! It’s those dress things. πŸ™‚ I’ll take a picture next week or sumthen’.
Oh! And with the storm, there comes chaos.. So Elder Ollerton and I were heading to our lesson, and the storm came a ‘rollin in, and the wind was blowing really hard, (Tahiti gets almost no wind, unless it’s a big storm) and so there are these trees.. Uru Trees.. and the fruit thereof is exceedingly large. And it came to pass that I was beneath an Uru tree when the wind was blowing, and a FREAKING URU ALMOST KILLED ME!!! It landed six inches from me. So that was exciting. (Uru is called Bread fruit, or something like that in English)
Fasting is as hard as ever. It’s just draining! So you’re just thirsty, and hungry, and you still have like 18 hours of the fast left, that’s a killer. But after.. oh boy!! TAMAA MAITAI ELDER!!! You eat so much.. That’s probably why I’m fat now.
One of our lessons, we were ya know, teaching and stuff, it was a lessonΒ at 6 o’clock, and after we finished, it went a little over, so the people at the lesson were like “do you have anything planned for after this??” and before we could finish saying “No” they’re like, “Oh!!! Elder ma!! Stay and eat some food!” and because our meal was canceled we decided it’s easier to take the food they give you than to go home and make food, and we had just had HUGE Lunch, so we weren’t particullarly hungry, but they brought out some food, they brought out this giant plate of crepes, and I was like, cool! So I ate. And then they brought out more food.. And I was like, “okay… So I just ate a bunch of crepes, and I’m really full” but The Tahitians make you eat anyway. πŸ™‚ so cool. So they brought out this HUGE bowl of sushi, and then these little rice things with Caviar, and Shrimp, and crab on them, so I was like, whatever, we’re fasting tomorrow, I’ll eat a ton tonight, so I loaded up to the brim with this sea food! (Caviar is disgusting by the way. Who ever says that it’s good should be punched in the chest) and after that, I was dead, I thought I was going to pop… Yeah, that was the “first part of the meal”.. They then brought out this meat/onion/carrot thing… WHAT THE HECK! I’m gonna die! So I ate as much as I could of that until I was really going to.. ya know, toss the lunch bucket.
So then I just sat there.. Waiting to die.. And I seem to ALWAYS forget something.. And that something, is that there is always… always a dessert. πŸ™‚ yeah.. more food in my belly, because you can’t say no to a Tahitian when there is food at STEAK.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ PAHAHAHAHA, okay, so that’s my week, I’ve gotta go now, More next week homeslices!

Elder Purdy

Leave a Reply

